Chalktalk Conversations: VCU's Max Shulga

Preseason frontrunner for Atlantic 10 Player of the Year opens up on a range of topics

Courtesy: VCU Athletics

Anyone compiling a list of the top players in the Atlantic 10 would be criminally negligent not to include VCU’s Max Shulga, the 6-foot-5, 200 pound guard who’s as efficient (.446 FG, .415 3PT, .876 FT) and productive (14ppg, 4.6rpg, 3.6rpg in 23-24) as they come.

An elite mover and playmaker, Shulga possesses a blend of grit and grace any coach would desire as part of their program. For these reasons and many others, the Kyiv, Ukraine, native was highly sought after this offseason when testing the transfer portal waters — before ultimately returning to VCU for his final year where he’ll lead a talented crew targeting an Atlantic 10 Championship.

We connected for an engaging and revealing discussion on his boomerang back to VCU, expectations for himself and team, his health, and slice of life topics too.

Chris DiSano: The natural place to start is your decision to enter the portal. You enter it, assess, and then it appears you’re headed to Villanova. Of course, everyone knows what happens and you return to VCU. Can you unpack the process from how you initially told Coach [Ryan] Odom of your intent to enter the portal, the sentiment and your consideration phase, and how you found your way back to a coach you’ve been with for the last few years?

Max Shulga: I just told Coach after the season that I might be looking to transfer for my grad transfer year and he completely understood. He offered to help me, hit up some people to see what different coaches are talking about, and help me land in the best spot possible situation. He took it well, I would say. He was willing to help.

I was obviously going to go to Villanova but, when it came down to it, I was rethinking my decision and I just came down to “Why would I leave family, pretty much?” Like you said, I’ve been with Coach for the past three or four years… why would I not finish it with the people I started it with? We’re going to have a great team this year so, obviously, the goal is to compete for the Atlantic 10 Championship this year which, you know, probably wouldn’t be the case [in terms of similarly competing for a conference championship] if I went to Villanova. So it just came down to staying around the people I started with and finishing it up with them.

CDD: I am curious on who you leaned on for advice throughout your consideration process, with so many complexities (NIL, etc.) now involved beyond just basketball in these types of decisions?

Shulga: To be honest, I did much of the deliberation myself. My family… my Dad, keeps up with the games but he doesn’t know how the transfer portal goes or the reputations of schools and conferences. I didn’t have too many people, but I did speak with Sean Bairstow (former Utah State and VCU teammate). So probably Coach Odom, Sean, and some friends and other former teammates.

CDD: How would you describe the relationship you and Coach Odom have built?

Shulga: It’s more than just basketball. He takes care of his people off the court and he treats you as a person, guides you through life, teaches you. It’s not just a coach/player relationship. I learned a lot about life in general from how Coach carries himself off the court, how he speaks to everyone, talks to different people — I’ve learned a lot from him.

CDD: Let’s transition to this upcoming season and your VCU squad. Last year, NIT appearance… I know you’re excited about the team this year. What are you thinking as you head into this year, your last in collegiate ball?

Shulga: Just give it all I got, really. This is the last chance. This is the last year I get to play in college, so that’s all I’m focused on. Working on getting better in the summer and giving my all on when the season comes around.

CDD: I’m glad you went there in terms of your own development. What are some of the individual areas you’re working on? You’re a well rounded player to begin with, so what areas are you targeting?

Shulga: You said it right there, I’m an all-around player so I’m working on everything. I want to continue being like that, so I work on everything but I’m working primarily on shooting right now — getting my shots off quicker, becoming even more consistent than I was last year. I had a couple rough patches last year where I became passive, taking only a few shots per game. So I’m working on being more consistent, getting the handle tighter, getting my passes more on point, gaining weight and strength to be even more physical.

CDD: What about on the defensive side of the ball? Any individual points of emphasis this offseason?

Shulga: To me defense is all about effort. We work a lot with our strength and conditioning coach, Coach [Daniel] Roose, so he’s just building that foundation. Building strong legs, being agile, improving quickness, and giving it your all on the defensive end. I’m not really doing any defensive work on one thing specifically.

Courtesy: VCU Athletics

CDD: There’s been deserved hype in terms of Atlantic 10 Preseason Player of the Year type expectations. Do you pay any attention to it?

Shulga: Yeah… People definitely have brought it up to me - even people around the program - but me personally, I don’t pay any attention to it. Because once the games come around and once the season comes around you’re just doing anything you can to help the team win. If the accolades align with the success of the team, then that’s great. When you’re actually on the court and when you’re actually playing that’s never a thought in my mind about “I need to do this… or I need to do that…” It’s all about what we need as a team and whatever happens after that, happens.

CDD: Given that you are one of the elder statesmen on this team — what does leadership mean to you heading into this season?

Shulga: We have a lot of fifth year guys and some freshmen on the other side, so there is some age and experience gap between us so, for me, it’s about bridging the gap. It’s about leading the newcomers and younger guys to put everyone on the same page… and be able to go through ups and downs during the season because they’re going to be there regardless. Just stay together as a unit.

CDD: You have the good contingent of veteran guys like you Zeb, Joe, others… and a couple of intriguing graduate transfer newcomers in 6-foot-10, forward Jack Clark (Clemson) and 5-10 guard Phillip Russell (UT-Arlington)? I’m sure VCU fans will be excited to learn of your early impressions of each.

Shulga: Yeah… I think Jack is a really good all-around forward. He can rebound, he can push the ball and push pace, he can pass and shoot… so he brings a lot of versatility. You can play him almost anywhere and he’ll contribute to the team.

And Phil is just a dog. He’s a dog. He competes on the defensive end all the time. He’s physical, he’s going to bump you, he plays very physical for his size [5-foot-10, 165 pounds]. He’s just a competitor.

CDD: We both know it’s only late July. There are months ahead to practice and grow before as a team before you hit the hardwood for real… but what will it take for this team to reach its ceiling?

Shulga: I think just carrying over what we did last season towards the end of the season. Carrying that into this new season. Staying together and not getting off the tracks no matter what happens. Knowing who we are and what we can do together. Having no egos involved. Learning from each other, learning together, and sticking with it. That’s the main part. From my personal experience that’s what keeps happening every year. The teams who stay connected through ups and downs make it far — so I think that’s the most important part.

CDD: Let’s hit a few quick ones… What off court activities do you like doing during your free time?

Shulga: Watch some TV and play some videos games. Pretty laid back.

CDD: Okay, what’s your favorite show and what do you play?

Shulga: My favorite show is Prison Break, I would say. I’m not watching any specific show right now… mostly just YouTube videos, scrolling through different types of videos. And then video games I play NBA2K24, I like Call of Duty. I like this tennis game, Topspin, that came out so I’ve been playing that a lot.

CDD: If you run into my oldest son on 2K, watch out. He blows me off the court with somebody like last year’s Grizzlies while I’m using a team like the all-time Celtics and still getting buried.

Shulga: [Laughs]… yeah…

CDD: I’ll let him know about Topspin… Okay, let’s jump to the Olympics… do you know anyone playing and how much will you watch over the next couple of weeks?

Shulga: I don’t know anybody personally who’s playing but I’ll be paying close attention to those games because I always watch basketball when I can. There should be some competitive games for sure.

CDD: And the last one I want to ask you about… You’re a grinder and you battled through some back spasms, you had a shoulder issue - in fact, the game I called between VCU/URI you still had the left shoulder taped - how are you doing health-wise and are you ready to roll?

Shulga: I’m ready to go. I had a hernia surgery in May so I just had to get that fixed, but I’m ready to go. I’ve been working out for over a month. I’m definitely back and I’m definitely ready to go.

CDD: I know you’ve given many interviews and been asked about the situation back home. I’d be remiss if I didn’t check in and be sensitive to this, yet please feel free to discuss it only if you’re comfortable. If so, how are your family, friends and others?

Shulga: Thanks, we can discuss it. My family is still back home and doing okay. Where I’m from, Kyiv, it’s technically the most protected city because its the capital and the majority of the government is there so, while it’s not completely safe and anything can happen on any given day… my parents are doing good, my grandparents, everyone back home — they try to live their lives, go to work, do the everyday stuff, and kind of zone out a little bit… not paying attention to what’s going on politically even though it’s obviously affecting many people lives. I always have them in my heart, and in my thoughts — but they’re doing good.

CDD: Continued thoughts and prayers for their well-being over there, thank you for sharing and for a great conversation. Good luck and looking forward to meeting up personally this season.

Shulga: Yeah, definitely, we’re going up to Rhode Island this year.

We appreciate you reading… please help out the College Chalktalk newsletter and do not copy/paste even free content like this elsewhere. Encourage your Atlantic 10 friends to Come Hoop with Us at College Chalktalk by going to collegechalktalk.beehiiv.com and popping an email address in to access the site/newsletter free content. It’s just the beginning. Thank you.